Emotional Equation of Life

Was clearing my inbox this morning and an email from Sim, Singapore Head, has kept my mind occupied till now. It has been.. 6 hours? definitely worth anyone’s reflection this break.

A lesson he learnt on emotional equation from an Indian spiritualist, T. T. Rangarajan

Acceptance = Positive Emotion

When someone is doing something in a way I don’t want it to b done and I am not able to accept it, I am angry. However, when someone is doing something in a way I don’t want it to be done but I am able to accept it, I remain tolerant.

When someone has something that I don’t have, or someone is able to produce results that I am not able to produce and I am not able to accept it, I become jealous. However, if I can accept it, I get inspired.

When I encounter uncertainty and I am not sure about how I am going to handle it, and I am not able to accept it – it causes fear in me. When I encounter uncertainty and I am not sure about how I am going to handle it, but I am able to accept it – I feel adventurous.

When someone has done something that has emotionally hurt me and I am not able to accept it, it develops hatred in me. When someone has done something that has emotionally hurt me and I am able to accept it, it helps me forgive them.

When someone is present in my thoughts but is not physically present, and I am not able to accept it, I say ‘I am missing you’. When someone is present in my thoughts but is not physically present, and I am able to accept it, I say ‘I am thinking of you’.

Then the emotional equation is simple.

Something + Acceptance = Positive Emotion

Something + Non-Acceptance = Negative Emotion

So, it is not ‘something’ or ‘someone’ who is making me feel positive or negative, but it is my ‘acceptance’ or ‘non-acceptance’ of something or someone that is making me feel positive or negative. It isn’t the world, but the quality of my response to the world (acceptance or non-acceptance) that determines the quality of my emotions.

The next time I find myself disturbed by a negative emotion, instead of asking who or what is disturbing me, I will examine who or what I am resisting (not accepting). I will replace resistance (non-acceptance) with acceptance, and the negative emotion will turn into a positive one.

Emotional management begins by stopping to blame that ‘something’ or ‘someone’ and starting to take the responsibility to respond to life with ‘acceptance’.

So i googled and found a similar version , via here

When Someone Is Doing Something Or About To Do Something, In A Way I Dont Want It To Be Done – And I M Not Able To Accept It – I Become Angry.
When Someone Is Doing Something Or About To Do Something, In A Way I Dont Want It To Be Done – And I M Able To Accept It – I Remain Tolerant.

When Someone Is Having Something Or Someone Is Able To Produce The Results Which I M Not Able To Produce – And I M Not Able To Accept It – I Become Jealous.
When Someone Is Having Something Or Someone Is Able To Produce The Results Which I M Not Able To Produce – And I M Able To Accept It – I Get Inspired.

When I M Encountering Uncertainty Or Is About To Encounter Uncertainty, Which I M Not Sure How I M Going To Handle – And I M Not Able To Accept It – It Causes Fear In Me.
When I M Encountering Uncertainty Or Is About To Encounter Uncertainty, Which I M Not Sure How I M Going To Handle – And I M Able To Accept It – I Feel Adventurous About It.

When Someone Has Done Something That Has Emotionally Hurt Me – And I M Not Able To Accept It – It Develops Hatred In Me.
When Someone Has Done Something That Has Emotionally Hurt Me – And I M Able To Accept It – It Helps Me Forgive Them.

When Someone Is Present In My Thoughts, But Is Not Physically Present – And I M Not Able To Accept It – I Say I M Missing U.
When Someone Is Present In My Thoughts, But Is Not Physically Present – And I M Able To Accept It – I Say I M Thinkin Of U.

Thus, Emotional Equation Becomes:
Something + Acceptance = Positive Emotion
Something + Non-Acceptance = Negative Emotion

So, It Is Not Something Or Someone Who Is Making Me Feel Positive Or Negative, But Its My Acceptance Or Non-Acceptance Of Something Or Someone, Which Impacts Things.

Don’t see anger but tolerance, jealousy but inspiration, fear but adventure, hatred but forgiveness,  missing but thinking.

New equation to my life this 2105 🙂

Leave a Reply

